Innovation and excellence in science and health



Attractive cosmopolitan lifestyle

Steeped in culture with the River Cam and the University of Cambridge at its heart, Cambridge is one of the most attractive places in the UK to live and work. It is an intimate yet cosmopolitan city where medieval architecture blends seamlessly with stunning modern buildings and where people of all nationalities, religions and backgrounds live and work together.

Cambridge Overview

Prior to the 1950s, Cambridge was essentially a small market town with a world-class university. Since then Cambridge has evolved into a thriving cosmopolitan city with a reputation as one of the leading technology centres in the world and is often referred to as “Silicon Fen”. Ask any local to describe why they enjoy living here and they will mention the stunning architecture of the medieval colleges and churches; the parklands and green open spaces; the variety of shops, restaurants and pubs; the quality of both the independent and state-run schools; the choice of leisure and cultural activities; the fact they can be in London in less than an hour; and the general feeling of optimism that pervades the city. On a less positive note, they may also mention the above-average cost of housing as well as the congestion on the roads during the rush hours and the influx of tourists in the summer months.

People who work on the Campus typically live either in the city of Cambridge or in one of the towns or villages in the district of South Cambridgeshire, West Suffolk, North-West Essex or North-east Hertfordshire.

About Cambridgeshire

Cambridge is the main settlement in the county of Cambridgeshire which borders Lincolnshire to the north, Norfolk to the northeast, Suffolk to the east, Essex and Hertfordshire to the south, and Bedfordshire and Northamptonshire to the west.

About Cambridge City

With a population of 124,000 the city of Cambridge is divided into 14 wards: Abbey, Arbury, Castle, Cherry Hinton, Coleridge, East Chesterton, King’s Hedges, Market, Newnham, Petersfield, Queen Edith’s, Romsey, Trumpington and West Chesterton. The Biomedical Campus is located in Queen Edith’s.

Cambridge is a non-metropolitan district served by Cambridge City Council. There are forty two city councillors with three assigned to each ward. The party composition of the council is: 24 Labour; 14 Liberal Democrat; 2 independent; 1 Green; and 1 Conservative. The current (2015) Mayor is Councillor Robert Dryden and the Deputy Mayor is Councillor Jeremy Benstead. The Mayor’s duties are almost entirely ceremonial, although they do chair meetings of the full Council. The Leader of the Council is Councillor Lewis Herbert (Labour), and the Deputy Leader is Councillor Carina O’Reilly (Labour). The highest non-elected official is the Chief Executive, Antoinette Jackson.

About South Cambridgeshire (South Cambs)

South Cambridgeshire is the local government district surrounding the city of Cambridge. The population of South Cambs is 145,000. The combined area of South Cambridgeshire, including both the South Cambridgeshire district and the city of Cambridge, is about 1,000 square km. The council consists of 57 councillors, representing 34 electoral wards.

The villages in South Cambs are listed below:

Abington Piggotts – Arrington – Babraham – Balsham – Bar Hill – Barrington – Bartlow – Barton – Bassingbourn cum Kneesworth – Bourn – Boxworth – Caldecote – Cambourne – Carlton – Castle Camps – Caxton – Childerley – Chishills – Chittering – Comberton – Connington – Coton – Cottenham – Croxton – Croydon – Dry Drayton – Duxford – Elsworth – Eltisley – Fen Ditton – Fen Drayton – Fowlmere – Foxton – Fulbourn – Gamlingay – Girton – Grantchester – Graveley – Great Abington – Great Eversden – Great Shelford – Great Wilbraham – Guilden Morden – Hardwick – Harlton – Harston – Haslingfield – Hatley – Hauxton – Heydon – Hildersham – Hinxton – Histon – Horseheath – Horningsea – Ickleton – Impington – Kingston – Knapwell – Landbeach – Linton – Litlington – Little Abington – Little Eversden – Little Gransden – Little Shelford – Little Wilbraham – Lolworth – Longstanton – Longstowe – Madingley – Melbourn – Meldreth – Milton – Newton – Oakington – Orchard Park – Orwell – Over – Pampisford – Papworth Everard – Papworth St Agnes – Rampton – Sawston – Shepreth – Shingay cum Wendy – Shudy Camps – Six Mile Bottom – Stapleford – Steeple Morden – Stow-cum-Quy – Swavesey – Tadlow – Teversham/Cherry Hinton – Thriplow & Heathfield – Toft – Waterbeach – West Wickham – West Wratting – Weston Colville – Westwick – Whaddon – Whittlesford – Willingham – Wimpole

Cambridge – surrounding counties and towns

In the neighbouring counties, the main towns within a 20 mile radius of Cambridge are:

Newmarket (17 miles) – market town in Suffolk generally considered the birthplace and global centre of thoroughbred horse racing, and a future UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Saffron Walden (18 miles) – a medium-sized market town in the Uttlesford district of Essex. The town retains a rural appearance with many very old buildings dating from the medieval period onwards.. In 2001 the parish had a population of 15,000.

Royston (13 miles) – town in the District of North Hertfordshire with a population of 14,570. It is situated on the Greenwich Meridian, which brushes the town’s eastern boundary, and at the northernmost apex of the county on the same latitude as towns such as Milton Keynes and Ipswich.

Baldock (21 miles) – historic market town in the local government district of North Hertfordshire with a population of around 10,000. Nearby towns include Letchworth and Hitchin to the southwest and Stevenage to the south.